Skip to content

Exhaust System – Ceramic Coating

February 16, 2009

Stock

The stock exhuast system on the Ducati 848 is made from stainless steel.  Stainless steel is great in that it doesn’t rust, but it discolours with heat, and the stock surface is porous and seems to attract all kinds of dirt and road grime.

I’ve read on some forums these posts where people have pulled their systems off, and then laboriously buffed them until they’re shiny.  Very shiny.  If you’re into bling in a big way – this would be the way to go.

I decided I was after something a little less labour intensive, and perhaps not quite so shiny.  That’s when I started reading up about a popular coating for exhaust systems – ceramic coating.

Ceramic Coating

Ceramic coating is exactly what it sounds like.  A ceramic powder is blown onto the pipes, and baked at high temperatures.  The coating is applied to both the inside and the outside of the header pipes.  A number of different finishes and colours are available – from matt black, to gloss black, silver, white, etc.  A number of guys had recommended coating in the USA by a group called Jet-Hot.  I googled them, and guess what?  They’re in Australia too!  http://www.jet-hot.com.au/

I decided to get mine done in their new “Sterling” coat.

Before

Here’s how the bike looked before the job, and how the exhaust system looked.  Note the discolouration – stainless goes a sort of yellow brown after time.

The Ducati 848, before

The Ducati 848, before

Here’s a shot with all of the pipes off.  They were surprisingly easy to remove – just one of the nuts on the rear header was in an awkward spot, but not too difficult.

Ducati 848, Exhaust System Off

Ducati 848, Exhaust System Off

Here’s a close-up of the system.  Yes, the pipes are relatively clean, but I’m fussy!

Stock Ducati 838 Exhaust System

Stock Ducati 838 Exhaust System

After

I boxed up the system, including the black heat shields, and the muffler retaining springs, and sent them off to Jet-Hot in Melbourne.  After about a ten day wait, they arrived back, all coated!  (I got the heat shields done in matt black.  They were already coated, but I think just with heat-proof paint, and I wanted a better finish.)

Here’s a picture of the results!

Ducati 848 exhaust, after ceramic coating by Jet-Hot Melbourne

Ducati 848 exhaust, after ceramic coating by Jet-Hot Melbourne

I’m very pleased with how they turned out.  The finish isn’t as bright as chrome – it looks more like your grandmother’s polished silver tea pot, if you know what I mean.

Here’s a shot with them back on the bike.

Ducati 848, with ceramic coated exhaust system

Ducati 848, with ceramic coated exhaust system

And here’s a final shot, complete with an admirer.  (That’s Levi, folks.  60+kgs of Rhodesian Ridgeback.  A fantastic security system, and a big help in the garage!)

Ducati 848 with an admirer

Ducati 848 with an admirer

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Dockstrada permalink
    June 7, 2009 10:36 am

    Hey Spot,

    Great site,some interesting reading.See yopu at the track soon.

    BR Dock

    • spotcom permalink*
      June 8, 2009 10:23 am

      Ah, g’day Dock. Must update this site, and must get back to the track again soon. I’m getting withdrawal symptoms!

  2. Jim permalink
    October 13, 2009 5:12 am

    I am thinking of having the system on my Paul Smart done. How did the finish adhere to the aluminum exhaust cans?

    • spotcom permalink*
      October 13, 2009 7:19 am

      I’ve now had the finish on for about a year. It’s held up very well, and there’s no flaking. The only bit that has lost its lustre is just where the header meets the engine. On the water cooled superbike engines, this area gets very hot (under the fairing too). I’ve seen 105 Celsius on the display at times. On the air-cooled Paul Smart (lovely bike, by the way – congrats), I think that the finish may not lose the sheen that mine has.

      Having said that it’s lost its sheen – it’s just gone a little dull. It may shine up if I polished it, but given that it’s tucked under the fairing, I haven’t bothered. There’s certainly no flaking though, and I would still recommend this as a good finish.

      Note that it’s not as brilliant as highly polished chrome – it’s more like polished silverware, if you know what I mean. My pipes are still getting comments, so I’m happy with them.

  3. Strega_Rossa permalink
    April 11, 2011 6:48 am

    Looks fantastic. Hubby wants to get his headers ceramic coated. I might have mine done in my 796 Monster as a preventive measure.

    • spotcom permalink*
      April 11, 2011 9:07 am

      Yes, get your monster done! I’d be interested in seeing that. I’m racing the baby brother to your bike at the moment – a 696.

Trackbacks

  1. Ceramic Coating Exhaust - Bikes and Scooters

Leave a Reply

