Skip to content

Muffler Reconstruction – Part III

February 24, 2009

I seriously only thought there’d be two parts to this story.  The modified mufflers sounded much better than stock – in the garage.  However, I went along to Eastern Creek Raceway on Saturday for another trackday, and had a chat to a number of people there about the sound.

Some said that they sounded great, and all said that they were an improvement over stock.  However, some said that they were a much higher pitched tone than the Termignoni pipes, and made the bike sound like a cross between a Ducati and a Jap twin.  On the track (I always wear earplugs, by the way), they sounded good, but not awesome.

So, after discussing the mods I’d made, and looking at some other systems (including a very nice 70mm full racing system), we agreed that one big difference was the small stock outlet that I’d left in the end caps.

That made for a very nice little Sunday chore!  I decided to leave the pipes on the bike for this last little modification.  The first step was to drill holes all around the small pipe in the end cap.

Step 1 was to drill a series of holes around the small pipe

Holy Mufflers, Batman!

Once the holes were all drilled, the next step was to enlarge the holes, and then punch out the small bits of metal inbetween.  This didn’t take that long, really – just a few minutes.

Once the holes had been drilled, it was easy to punch out the remaining metal.

Out, Damned Pipe!

This enabled the small pipe to be lifted out, but it left a jagged, rough looking edge inside the end cap.

That rough finish is just begging to be cleaned up.

Jagged Edge! (Maybe I should have left it this way?)

This is the bit that took the longest.  I used a combination of a good metal file (thank you Mr Sandvik!), and a grinding wheel on a Dremel tool.  Just on the Dremel – I started with one of those fine, long grinding stones, but broke it, so ended up using the larger, fat grinding wheel.  It worked a treat.  It also helps to have the flexible shaft for the Dremel as well (in fact, I use this for most jobs).

The finished job looks quite neat – you’d never know that it had that small pipe there at all!

Finished!  That's a LARGE opening now.

Finished! That's a LARGE opening now.

As you can see from the above picture, you can see right through the muffler now.  Essentially, the exhaust gases now flow from the motor, through one of three smaller openings in the two baffle plates, and then out the large opening that I’ve just made.

For the next post, I’ll add some video sound clips that I took of the stock muffler, then after the initial reconstruction, and finally, after this last modification.

One thing, though – the video doesn’t capture the sound very well at all.  It’s freaking loud. 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. oli permalink
    June 25, 2009 8:53 pm

    great site mate!

    From your experience, can you recommend a faster or easier way to do this? I’m thinking about doing it to my stock cans, and I could use some pointers.
    I don’t want to get rid of the cat cos I want to see the orange-gold glow down the pipes at night!

    I’ll keep checking back to see what else you’ve done.

    • spotcom permalink*
      June 25, 2009 9:02 pm

      It would be quite quick to de-baffle the stock mufflers without touching the cat end.

      The absolute fastest way would be to do what I did in Muffler Reconstruction Part III. Drill holes around that outlet, then use a file or a Dremel to join the dots, then pull the outlet pipe out altogether.

      I’d be interested to hear what it sounds like. You never know – with the cats left in, it might not be too bad. I suspect, though, that it will sound loud and harsh, which is why I went to the next phase. They are awesome now – I do get comments! 🙂

      Best of luck. And thanks for reminding me, I haven’t posted up in a while, and probably should catch up!

  2. Oli permalink
    June 29, 2009 4:35 pm

    I’ve been doing a bit more research now, and spoken to a few people at the Ducati shop.
    The best thing to do is take out the baffles, open up the end (like you did) then put in a straight through drilled stainless pipe. Then you can put in extra wadding/stainless steel wire in the exhaust to take out the tinny sound. That way, you get loudness and a deep tone.
    After that, go power commander and 10 mins on a dyno (Frasers Ducati only charge $60/hour) and she’ll be outputting the same power as the slip-on termi pipes and ECU.
    I also found a source of free stock 1098 cans. I might even be able to get some titanium ones for free! (email me if you want in on the secret)
    Keep on blogging 848 guy 😉

  3. spotcom permalink*
    June 29, 2009 4:59 pm

    That sounds awesome (no pun intended). Yes, what they’ve suggested re baffles and pipe / wadding, etc., is the go. I’d be interested though – does the power commander simply piggy-back on to the current stock ECU, and will it make a difference? I was under the impression (could be mistaken) that the power commander needed the DP ECU.

  4. Oli permalink
    June 30, 2009 1:29 pm

    Yeah, the PC piggy-backs on the stock ECU. A dyno session is essential for any mods like this – there will be a power boost available to you with your new modded cans now they’re opened up and you need a new engine map to utilise it, otherwise you may just be damaging your engine. The stock ECU maps can be changed by a ducati dealership, but this is more of a pain in the @ss than mapping a Power Commander.

    Termi pipes come with a new ECU with the maps pre-loaded because they know exactly how the engine will respond with those pipes, and it’s easier for the garage to swap out chips than re-map.

    Hope that all makes sense.

Leave a Reply

